IAMBCBMH Chapter 20

Disclaimer: Some words or phrases may be lost in translation. The word might not have a literal translation in English or there may be sayings in Korean culture that I am not familiar with.

(athanasiafrost)

As he had stated, members of Duke Noavik’s bloodline were capable of foreseeing the emergence of the strongest demon. I had heard about it from Barbara.

“Therefore, return.”

Johannes continued in a friendly yet authoritative manner.

“Because it’s time for it to come out soon.”

I abhorred Johannes to the core. I despised him more and more the more he appeared to be such a good person. I got sick to my stomach at the thought of the cruel thrill he would feel when his well-groomed face caught the Blue Ruby.

But I hated dying even more.

Apart from that, today was my 25th birthday. Zion and Vincent’s elaborate birthday present fluttered before my eyes.

These were the days I didnt want to die more than ever.

“Yes, I understand.”

I made a silent nod. I then walked slowly in the opposite direction.

If Johannes went into the woods afterwards, I would quickly grab my gun from my crutches and run into the woods. Even though I detested being in the same space as Johannes, I had to be near him. I chose it out of desperation to avoid something I detested far more.

I frequently used to visit this forest. I know that tallest tree from which I would be able to see. All I needed to do was climb the tree and outpace Johannes to the highest level demon.

Come on, come on. If Johannes, who is keeping an eye on my retracing steps, turns around and vanishes into the forest…

“Wait.”

Yet Johannes didn’t abandon me. He even drove his horse to stand in front of me. I choked back my profanities and slowly turned to face him. I was engulfed by his enormous shadow as it extended out.

“… How about a ride?”

“Yes?”

“It’s dangerous with such a slow pace. I’ll get you out of the forest.”

I couldn’t help but scream out an even harsher curse in my mind in response to that considerate statement. I thought back to what Barbara had said earlier.

(athanasiafrost)

“The Duke Noavik family takes their ability to identify the most extreme forms of demonic spirits very seriously. The  duty not to cause harm to civilians. They have been able to dominate that huge north for so long because of this.”

Thus, Johannes was now exaggerating his sense of duty by saying that he couldn’t bear to witness the harm done to civilians by the demons he sensed. Johannes didn’t actually move the way I anticipated.

I had no option, though. because refusing was suspicious.

“Ah… Thank you.”

I was on the verge of hugging him when I realised I had no choice but to ride the horse with him. I was nauseous because it was my first time riding a horse.

Every time the horse shook, I put on a look as though I were about to vomit. Johannes sighed but rather pulled the horse’s rein to slow it down.

There were too many sounds, including owls chirping, trees swaying in the wind, and horses pounding through the words.

I even had the impression that there were only the two of us left in the world since it seemed like the entire world was this forest.

The overwhelming presence I sensed behind me caused me to continue shrinking. I had the impression that if I even lightly touched any skin, everything about me would be on bare. My hands were sweating profusely as I held the crutches.

It’s been a while since I’ve experienced such a tense situation.

Perhaps, is it the third?’

One of them happened not long ago when I managed to escape Johannes’ nose. In addition, this interaction with Johannes occurred during my most tense moment ever…

“Help! Help! Please!”

I eluded the guards when I was fifteen years old. Despite not knowing where I was going, I miraculously came across a man while sprinting till I was out of breath. I clutched to him for dear life.

I don’t really remember his face because he was galloping on his horse while wearing a thick cloak. The already inebriated 15-year-old me pleaded while blocking his path but didn’t even bother to glance at his face.

“Me, take me, take… take me to the temple…”

Hurriedly pulling on the reins, the horse’s rider slowed down. because he nearly struck me. He was frantically galloping on his horse in the middle of the night, acting as if there was an emergency.

I couldn’t see those things at the moment because I was so frightened, and every part of my body was trembling. I questioned whether I would ever be able to escape a miserable life. But before I could continue, someone pulled my hair.

“I apologise. You blocked his path.”

My arm was automatically grabbed by the guards of Ace, who I had left behind, as I tried to flee. The person I was clinging to appeared to have a youthful face in its own unique way as I noticed that the warden spoke with ease right away.

“Our kid had gotten in the way. You appear to be busy, so continue in your current direction.”

Actually, he was the one who mounted the horse from a distance. It was obvious that there was a crucial matter. Yet, he took a brief pause and shown some slight hesitation. The watchman advised me while smiling.

“Tell me now. You made up some bullshit, didn’t you? Even if you visit the temple, kids like you cannot become priests. Why don’t you listen? Wait till you come of age.”

I was unable to respond to any of that. The warden secretly flashed his sword to me.

It was clear why he purposefully displayed the vivid ace pattern; it was a warning that if I continued to speak rubbish, not even this innocent bystander would’ve been spared.

I was well aware of the warden’s abilities who was assigned to me. He was given the responsibility of keeping an eye on just me because Ace was such a gifted individual. I consequently couldn’t afford any more victims due to my carelessness since it was already known that I had been caught.

Finally, I was dejected and had to respond.

“That’s right….sorry, it was wrong of me. i really…. just wanted to go to the temple and become a priest….”

The onlooker who had been staring at us for a while paused for a second before quickly continuing on their way. It was only natural that he shown extreme impatience right away when we first met.

(athanasiafrost)

I had an absolutely terrible night following that. However, if not that day, it would have happened eventually because that was one of the numerous ways Ace tamed their slaves.

I didn’t feel bad about letting that onlooker go. At the time, the passerby would have likely perished at the hands of the guard if I had persisted in holding onto him.

“Sit up.”

Johannes spoke quietly as I was remembering the worst of times.

“If you keep acting like way, tomorrow your whole body will hurt and you won’t be able to get up.”

I was startled and answered.

“Sorry, this is my first time riding a horse….”

“Just because I’m supporting you doesn’t mean you wont fall. It’s easier for the horse and you to relax.”

“…Yes.”

Yet letting go was a tricky task. Johannes eventually even held my waist as I whimpered. When I caught sight of our extended shadows in the moonlight, I felt like my heart was about to explode.

The silence made me feel as though I were being suffocated. Particularly considering that something in this world is grabbing hold of me from behind.

“Duke.”

I finally murmured quietly since I believe Johannes can hear my heartbeat.

“… Are you here to capture the highest level of demons?”

“Are you curious?”

“Yes…”

I nodded while rolling my eyes.

“It seems…. that there are no knights around.”

“That’s true.”

Kindly, Johannes responded. He was very calm and had no desire to conceal anything.

“It’s been twenty years since  the appearance of the highest level of demons.”

It is stated the he had encountered his first high-level demon when he was eight years old, making this the first high-level demons he had ever encountered. I was motivated by the response that came easily, and asked again.

(athanasiafrost)

“I’ve heard that you managed to capture the most powerful demons when you were just 8 years old. Are the rumours truly the case?”

“Thats right.”

His tone was friendly, as if he were responding out of habit to a query that he had heard countless times. I raised my head a little and turned to face Johannes.

I took a quick look at his prominent jawline, high nose, piercing eyes, and thick brows. Yet, it was an appearance that doesn’t make the women who witnessed his face like Zion giggle. Instead, it was a face that makes you shrink.

Moonlight-like golden eyes stared at me with an abyssal intensity. I suddenly flinched and put strength in my knees without reason. My body tensed up because, even though it couldn’t be, I had the impression that everything was being examined.

I nevertheless asked again since I couldn’t help myself.

“… Did the Time Stone really come out?”

“Yes.”

Even though I was certain of everything, it was wonderful to confirm everything with the involved parties. Although the explanation is brief, it was consoling to consider that it might be related to the miracle that I was so desperately seeking.

Including the Time Stone. Only Barbara had told me about it, so it sounded to me like an old tale, which piqued my interest. I cautiously posed a different question.

“I have heard that the Time Stone is very unique. What sort of Time Stone was dropped? Could you please let me know?”

Common sense dictates that he would not have been so audacious in fleeing the chase. Yet I wasn’t familiar with how ordinary people asked and responded to questions.

Even Barbara, who was actively torturing me, was gracious enough to respond to my questions. Even after that, Barbara still didn’t know about it, which made me even more interested. It’s because Johannes claimed he kept others in the dark about the type of Time Stone that was being dropped at the time.

In addition to the fact that it was my 25th birthday today and the fact that the only solution mysteriously emerged in front of me, I couldn’t help but continue to ask questions.

“Hmm…. It might be a time stone that can travel 20 years back in time…”

(athanasiafrost)

If you’d like to help me survive throughout the day, It’ll be greatly appreciated: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/athanasiafrost

Previous Next


One response to “IAMBCBMH Chapter 20”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started